Home

Every time I think of my favorite Argentinean desserts, I immediately think of my mom’s layered cake with dulce de leche. She would always make it for my birthday and it looks something like giant pile of thin shortbread cookies filled with caramel and toped with a little powder sugar. A few years ago my mom taught me the bite size version and I’ve been making them for special occasions and it’s a little tradition I’ve created for myself that I always look forward to. When it comes to desserts that make me feel like home, these are just the cookies to do the trick.

IMG_3952

Here are the ingredients and steps to follow!

3/4 tsp vanilla extract
pinch of salt
1/2 cup sugar
2 cup flour
8 tbsp butter
1 tbsp powdered sugar for decoration

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Butter and flour baking sheet.
Cream butter and sugar.
Add flour, salt and mix well.
Cover and let cool in the fridge for 30 mins.
Roll out and cut into desired shapes, place on baking sheet.
Let cool on a rack and then add dulce de leche to make the cookie sandwich.
Sprinkle with some powdered sugar. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Alfajores de Dulce de Leche

Leave a Reply

