Home

A couple of weeks  ago I went to North Carolina to visit my brother and his family to celebrate both my nieces’ birthday and mine. It was a very special birthday, not only because I hadn’t seen them in a year but seeing how much they’ve grown it’s just amazing. The other day, I was daydreaming at work and kept thinking about my niece and her friends running around at her ‘ice-cream shop’ themed birthday party. I could also imagine my niece with her ponytail still damp from a trip to the pool fully entrenched in summer-mode – afternoon popsicles and mid-week outings. And it made me realize that unless you’re a kid or have some of your own, there’s no real way to delineate the different seasons of the year.

On the first week of summer break when I was in school, my cousins and I would meet at my grandma’s house to use the pool and spend as many days as we wanted. It was so much fun and I loved that it was our tradition. We’d play outside for hours, swim, laugh, watch movies, enjoy the best homemade snacks and lemonade and eventually go to sleep in what used to be my dad’s bedroom. Those days were always special, but more importantly it was what it signified.

As an adult, one of my biggest complaints is that each day tends to bleed into the next. And while I appreciate having a job, the routine that comes with it can be boring and exhausting. I’m not sure if anyone my age can experience those traditions that were so exciting when we were younger, but I hope to change it for myself some day. I can only hope that whatever it is will feel as good as being at my grandma’s house with my family, eating delicious food made by my grandma and laughing nonstop.

One thought on “Growing up

Leave a Reply

